Take a risk. � Get uncomfortable. � Play ugly.
�last | now | next� | history | random | eMail | notes | gBook
about | profile | cast | FAQs | dLand
Rob Zombie's
stink

2002-07-31
Here's another piece I just uncovered. This must have been written about Christmas 2001. I had set up a laptop at Ange and Ben's kitchen table while the kittens played. Come to think of it, I was sitting in front of a fan, so it must have been last summer. Why else would there be a fan in the window?

Summer 2001 - It's mildly disconcerting to have to give a name to a piece in order to save it to the harddrive. I don't know what this is yet and i don't like calling it something before I know what it is. Sort of like deciding on a baby's name before I know whether it's a boy or a girl. Well, maybe not at all anything like that. With a baby it's a fifty-fifty decision, plus there are all the names that fit both.

They say...
if you're more interested in the font, then your not a very good writer. Same could be said for reading, I suppose, being more interested in the texture and color of the paper, the printing and all that....

Communication is a very difficult thing. Especially for me. Not that it's any more difficult for me just because I say so; I'm just willing to say it out loud that I'm not very good and communicating. What?! might say those who read what I write. It takes four hours to write something this long. But in person, in the vocal exchange of conversation I think I present myself in such a way that most people don't take me very seriously. And that's has worn on me quite a bit, especially lately. Being at Evergreen [was] extremely difficult because of the age factor. the more i think about it, the more I realize that i depend too much on other people's reactions to determine who I am or what i'm doing.

Every time I put myself out there, in any sense, i'm waiting for a reaction; a vallidation. instead of testing out my own ideas in action, i'm feeling them out through other people.

Why do i do that?

It's so easy for me to talk about personal independance with those who need to hear it. I had a great conversation with Amy the other day, spewing forth everything I thought she needed to hear about how i see her at this point in her life. But why can't I talk to myself the same way? Why can't I hear myself when I'm talking about those things? Is it because when I do talk, it's only so i don't have to think about myself? ...There's a thought.

How can I get myself to apply all the theories of life that I've constructed.

Driving somewhere one day, a strange idea struck me. I don't take myself seriously. And that thought has been repeating over and over in my head for the past several days. Every time i turn on the TV instead of opening a book; every time i give in to the cookies and ice cream in the middle of thenight; everytime I find my mind totally blank in the middle of the night, the thought occures to me that i'm not taking myself seriously. When the A.D.D. kicks in after a half-hour, of reading or writing, I decide all too easily that i've made enough effort and can take a break. Then I won't touch it again for days. Of course no one else takes me seriously. How can they when I'm not taking myself seriously?

It's a hard thing to look myself in the mirror with my head up my ass. The first thing i need to learn is to relax without letting go; to ease myself back with i get too wound up, but without disengaugeing.

...like right now, I have the sudden urge to to quite, get up and walk around, but i know i won't come back to this if i distract my self with something else.

Cow Girl is batting a wine cork across the linoleum, squeezing herself under the shelf rack, tromping through the food dishes against the wall. But i've played with them enough tonight. The whole idea of setting up a writing space over here at my sister's place is to write without the pleasurable distractions of the home house. i still want to know who's on Dave tonight; or if jay will do the street quiz today. And will Bill Mahar be watchable tonight? maybe i can take a look, cuz my wrists are getting a bit tight. And i know this is a lot more fun than sitting around watching TV wishing i had something to write. (I wonder how many other "serious" writers sit around 'talking' to themselves like this...)

Something i started to do about a year ago as part of my cognitive therapy was thinking of myself and how i wanted to be remembered by other at the end of my life. I wondered if that was such a positive process of thought to recommend to depressed people. it worked for a day.

I could imagine all the things i wanted to be by the time I grow old, but i could not imagine how the hell i was going to accomplish any of it. I had a grand view of the forest, but I couldn't pick out a single tree in it. At that time I wish i'd thought beyond scratching out of my hole; more about what paths were going to help me reach my goals.

I was sitting in the office the other day listening from another room to Angela and Rachel reciting their personal goals for the company. I couldn't hear every word said (i was trying to concentrate on what was in front of me, trying not to be annoyed that they hadn't asked me to sit in). nonetheless I walked all the way home that afternoon with a good sense of what they were doing - for themselves and for the people around them. It must have been that afternoon that I started thinking about what it means - after claiming goals and dreams and intention - when someone really begins to take themselves seriously.

After all is said and done on this planet, I'm the only one that i have to answer to. Will I be able to look back and feel proud that I'd honored my own life as well as the lives around me? Will I have taken this life seriously and have made the most of it? I sure want to; yet what a terrible challenge to overcome the fear of not knowing what to do. All my life i've grown with the notion that those who have grown before me know best.

What a steamin' pile!

perhaps there are those here and there who are able to look back with clear and honest eyes and remember, not the decisions made, or which answers are right or wrong, but what it felt like at the point of realization that our heros are mortal; our guides are as lost as any of us; and the gods don't live in the clouds, but are staring back at us everyday.

My guess being as good as anyone's (probably better than anyone's when it comes to my own), taking myself seriously begins with describing what i want to do with my life and how i want to make that happen. Easier said than done. When i think of myself ten years from now, the most pleasant image that comes to mind is one of me sitting in a small, cozy office, with a small staff of people thinking of new movies, and documentaries, thinking of exciting ways to tell stories.

I'd like to be a producer of media that get people to think about their lives. i suppose it doesn't have to be my own company, but i'd like to have a say in what goes on. Years ago when an acting coach asked his class what they wanted to be, after everyone else answered movie star, or director or even something as plain as good, I felt very small, as if my answer didn't really count when I said an influence.



Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Requests? Beuler? Respond to this entry...

next:guerilla
last:it's me time

most recent:

�The End.�

�Confessions of a delusional fool�

�Put my rear in gear and stear�

�Terms of enjoyment.�

�Honesty about the truth of Nature�

you're one of readers currently reading LizardNuts out of a total of